What do Mormons believe about Jesus Christ?

This is a question that I hear a lot. There is an official Mormon church website devoted specifically to Jesus Christ and His teachings, and I think that will clear up a lot of confusion about Mormonism and our love for Jesus Christ, his teachings, and his great sacrifice that allows us all to return to live with our Heavenly Father after this life is through. You can visit the website here:

LDS Website about Jesus Christ

Here is a brief portion of the website:

Many titles and names are descriptive of His divine mission and ministry. He Himself taught: “I am the light and the life of the world. I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end” (3 Nephi 9:18). “I am … your advocate with the Father” (D&C 29:5; see also D&C 110:14). “I am the good shepherd” (John 10:11). “I am Messiah, the King of Zion, the Rock of Heaven” (Moses 7:53). “I am the bread of life: he that cometh to me shall never hunger [or] thirst” (John 6:35). “I am the true vine, and my Father is the husbandman” (John 15:1). “I am the resurrection, and the life” (John 11:25). “I am … the bright and morning star” (Revelation 22:16), “Jesus Christ, your Redeemer, the Great I Am” (D&C 29:1).

He is the Mediator (see 1 Timothy 2:5), the Savior (see Luke 2:11), the Redeemer (see D&C 18:47), the Head of the Church (see Ephesians 5:23), its Chief Cornerstone (see Ephesians 2:20). At the last day, “God shall judge … men by Jesus Christ according to [the] gospel” (Romans 2:16; see also Mormon 3:20).

“God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son” (John 3:16); “wherefore, redemption cometh in and through the Holy Messiah; for he is full of grace and truth” (2 Nephi 2:6).

The main thing to remember is that Mormons believe in Jesus Christ just the same as Christians around the world have since before Jesus Christ even came to this earth. We believe that Jesus Christ is the Son of God, sent here to earth to save us from sin and death.

Please let me know if you have additional questions about Jesus Christ, His mission, or anything else.

Leave a Reply

