Christmas is coming

Some people wonder if Mormons celebrate Christmas. Of course we do! We celebrate the birth of Christ as being the single most important event in the history of this earth, and we celebrate Christmas with the rest of the Christian world on December 25th.

As a kid, Christmas to me was presents, Santa Claus, trees and treats. It is still all of those things to me now as an adult, but it has added meaning now that I understand the true meaning of Christmas- that Christ was born, lived and died on this earth so that I might have everlasting life.

With children of my own, Christmas is doubly important. I want my children to enjoy the excitement and joy that comes from the celebration, the treats, toys, Santa, and everything else. At the same time, I want them to start realizing as early as possible that Christmas is more than all that.

At the end of the day, I don’t worry about it too much. If we live as we should when Christ is in our lives, our children will see that every day of the year, and not just once a year.

Merry Christmas to everyone, please feel free to post any questions you may have!

Leave a Reply

